Feedback

I want to know you, my readers, and what do you think about the puzzles posted in this blog so far. Please allocate about five minutes to answer this survey, either by comment or e-mail.

General

  1. Do you often check my blog (or subscribe to my blog)?
  2. How do you know this blog?
  3. What do you think I should do to get more readers to this blog?

Puzzles

  1. Do you think the puzzles should be harder? Easier? Or even more variety of difficulty?
  2. Do you think I should allocate more to either symmetry and pattern or difficulty? Or are they okay?
  3. Are you more interested in some puzzle type(s) (and want me to make more)? Are you less interested in some puzzle type(s) (and want me to make less)? Are you interested on seeing some puzzle type(s) in this blog that this blog hasn’t had?

Misc

  1. Do you think I should post more frequently?
  2. Do you think I should post more regularly?
  3. Do you think my descriptions of the puzzle types need improvement?

Thank you for reading my blog and answering the above survey.

About chaotic_iak

The author of http://chaosatthesky.wordpress.com/ aka Chaos at the Sky, containing puzzles and more.
This entry was posted in Non-Puzzles. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feedback

  1. mathgrant says:

    General: I don’t recall the exact chain of events that led to my discovery of this blog, but it started with you posting a comment on mine. I am subscribed to it via e-mail, because I’m interested in seeing how your puzzle construction style matures over time. MellowMelon and I were n00bs ourselves once, but now we’re well-respected experts.

    To get more readers, promote it in puzzle communities where you’re already well-respected, such as Art of Problem Solving. For example, I have promoted my blog on The Grey Labyrinth and, when I had been there long enough that I felt relatively respected, on Puzzle Picnic. I also have a link to my blog in my e-mail signature and in my signature on those forums.

    Puzzles: It’s your blog, so do what you want, but I’ve always been a proponent of having a wide range of difficulties available, to cater to a variety of solving abilities and/or moods, especially if you can execute easiness and difficulty with equal amounts of artistry.

    Regarding symmetry, it’s generally an unwritten rule that the givens in Fillomino and Slitherlink MUST be symmetrical, so unless you’re going to execute something cute like WE WERE HERE, give it 180-degree rotational symmetry at the very least. With enough skill, it’s possible to increase the aesthetic appeal without diminishing the logic.
    Regarding puzzle types, while Fillomino is one of my personal favorites, I’m more interested in seeing what you can do with any puzzle type you construct than in trying to constrain your creativity by forcing you to cater to my whims.

    • chaotic_iak says:

      Yeah, I remember when I posted a comment on your blog.
      …where can I see who subscribed to my blog in WordPress?

      Eh, I already promoted it quite a lot by putting a link on my AoPS blog’s description. But only one member of AoPS that I know likes puzzles too, and I don’t really know whether he ever visited this blog.
      And…okay, let’s see how much can putting a link in the signature affects things.

      Hm… Is there any way to “decide” the difficulty previously? Every time I tried to make a puzzle, I cannot control its difficulty.
      And for pattern, let’s see. I have quite some construction problem; I can only do either a good pattern or a hard difficulty (or none); I can’t do both at once if planned beforehand.

      Hm… It’s weird to always have rotational symmetry. I wonder why no puzzle I found have reflectional symmetry…

      Well, okay, I get it.

      Now getting an “advice” from a “puzzle master”, I get some ideas of making new puzzles…wait for the next puzzles.

    • MellowMelon says:

      In my case I think I obtained readership in a bit of a different way from mathgrant. I also signature-linked to my blog on AOPS, but didn’t expect (and didn’t get) that much interest as a result. I *think* I attracted a lot of my readership by making substantive comments on other blogs (mathgrant’s and motris’s mostly) and using my WordPress login so it would link back to my own.

      Incidentally I also felt like I started getting regular commenters around the time I posted the first Liar Slitherlink puzzles. So some of it may have to do with good content. But I think that’s something you won’t have to worry about if you keep up your recent quality of work.

      Anyways, after your 29 and some others, I’m willing to put this on my list of links, so that may be a little help.

      • chaotic_iak says:

        “Using WordPress login”? What does it mean?

        Okay, thanks. Now what new content to put… Probably more of the “unusual” or “not widely known” puzzles like Hidato? 🙂

        Thanks! I’ll make this blog even better, to prove that it deserves the place.

        P.S. How do you put a link in the Blogroll? I can’t find any setting for it…

        • MellowMelon says:

          There should be a “Links” section in the WordPress dashboard near the “Posts” section. The blogroll is edited from there.

          By WordPress login, I mean using the OpenID system when you comment in other places. I think you already do this.

        • chaotic_iak says:

          Okay, saw it, and got it. The widget is now a Blogroll (not a Text).

          I think I only used WordPress login when I commented on your blog (or another WordPress blog). I commented at mathgrant’s not by WordPress login.

Leave a Reply

