Puzzle 028 – Cipher Slitherlink

This is a 4.0-star Cipher Slitherlink puzzle; that is, a Slitherlink puzzle with a Cipher twist. Each letter stands for a digit between 0, 1, 2, or 3. Identical letters stand for the same digit, and different letters stand for different digits.

028 - Cipher Slitherlink

After my account was hacked, I pick up the puzzle, edited a few parts of it (including renewing the image), and re-post it with the same theme. WE WERE HERE. DO NOT MESS WITH US, or you will DIE! have some trouble solving this.

And if you’re curious, no one hacked my account; I just make a theme for the puzzle.

About chaotic_iak

The author of http://chaosatthesky.wordpress.com/ aka Chaos at the Sky, containing puzzles and more.
This entry was posted in Cipher, Deduction Puzzles, Slitherlink, Slitherlink (Family), [Extra Variations]. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Puzzle 028 – Cipher Slitherlink

  1. chaotic_iak says:

    P.S. I’m quite a bad liar. 😛

    Anyway, each letter stands for a digit between 0, 1, 2, or 3; identical letters stand for the same digit, while different letters stand for different digits. Then solve the Slitherlink.

    • MellowMelon says:

      I think you need an extra clue somewhere in the top-right as there are some ambiguous 2s. Otherwise, quite nice. I ended up only needing to analyze one section to get all the letter values, and oddly enough it was the most constrained one.

      • mathgrant says:

        I concur with MellowMelon’s assessment. All of the Cipher Slitherlink I’d done before had a really easy starting point because only one of the letters could be 3, but this one was a but harder, not to mention it had a theme, which I also thought to be impossible. Aside from the crippling ambiguity leading to three solutions, I liked this.

  2. chaotic_iak says:

    Yup, error acknowledged. But I think I can’t be online by computer for the next week, so I’ll state it here.
    R1C10 becomes R.
    R2C9 becomes W.
    R3C10 becomes E.

Leave a Reply

