Puzzle 024 – Fillomino

This is a 5.0-star Fillomino puzzle.

024 - Fillomino

Warning: Untamed specimen ahead.

Well, at least that’s what I think. The first steps are easy; the final steps are scary…but apparently with only 19% cells given, it’s possible to construct a puzzle with a unique solution. Of course it’s possible to construct a 10×10 with 1% cell filled, namely a 100 in that cell, but it’s boring.

And yeah, every given in this puzzle is a prime number. Inspired from a puzzle in mathgrant’s blog…forget which one. πŸ˜›

About chaotic_iak

The author of http://chaosatthesky.wordpress.com/ aka Chaos at the Sky, containing puzzles and more.
This entry was posted in Deduction Puzzles, Fillomino, Fillomino (Family). Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Puzzle 024 – Fillomino

  1. mathgrant says:

    Despite the asymmetrical givens, this puzzle was actually pretty nice. When you’re a veteran of MellowMelon’s puzzles, though, this one hardly feels nightmarish. πŸ™‚ Not that I think beginners should tackle it, no way!

  2. chaotic_iak says:

    Well, thank you. πŸ™‚
    Hey, I have attempted MellowMelon’s puzzles only up to 50, only a few of which I have solved completely… (I don’t have enough time recently, with exams daily xD Probably a part of my one-month holiday at June-July will be spent solving all yours and MellowMelon’s puzzles.

    Eh, out of topic.)
    Basically that means I haven’t found the harder puzzles now.
    When I test-solved it, I finally found a way to “prove” that it’s the only possible solution (read: find clear logical steps). And those steps are in no way for a beginner to solve; any person managed to find these steps clearly have passed the beginner mark. πŸ™‚

    • mathgrant says:

      I managed to prove (and not merely “prove”) the uniqueness of the solution, although I intuited the solution a few minutes before I was convinced it was unique. I think anyone skilled enough to solve this will find it fairly rewarding. πŸ™‚

      MellowMelon and I are working on a test for LMI that will contain some very tough (as well as some very easy) Fillomino puzzles; I don’t know when the test will be ready, but I think you’ll really, really enjoy it. πŸ™‚ Maybe we can talk Deb Mohanty for scheduling the test during your holiday. . . !

      • chaotic_iak says:

        xD Just like you; I intuited the solution first; after test-solving it for the second (or third?) time, I found a logical way, without intuition, though it needs some higher analysis skills. (Basically repeat what I said in the last paragraph. xD )

        Okay, let’s see the test when it’s ready. And in case you need the information, my holiday will be at Jun 20ish until Jul 10ish.

        P.S. Fillomino is now my favorite logic puzzle type.

  3. Ours brun says:

    apparently with only 19% cells given, it’s possible to construct a puzzle with a unique solution.

    Well, I guarantee you that you can achieve the same goal with only 1% cells given (on a 10×10 puzzle, of course). Ok, the puzzle will certainly not be as interesting as this one.

    Based on what you said earlier, the path I followed at the end of the puzzle was probably not really intended, but it was very nice. I do not want to spoil, so, let Caesar speak (B->A, C->B, etc.) :

    BGUFS IBWJOH NBEF UIF TVN PG BMM DMVFT, J SFBMJAFE UIBU J DPVME VTF TPNF OVSJLBCF NFUIPET. WFSZ GVO.

  4. Ours brun says:

    Oops. Looking at my previous comment, it seems that something went wrong with the “blockquote” tag. Sorry about that.

    Fixed. πŸ™‚

  5. chaotic_iak says:

    Hm, what methods did you use?

    And you can e-mail me; encrypting something but giving the decryption method is not encryption. πŸ™‚

    • mathgrant says:

      XIBU BSF ZPV UBMLJOH BCPVU? JU JT UPP FODSZQUJPO!

    • Ours brun says:

      Well, of course the idea was not to test your skills as a cryptologist; just to avoid people reading the message inadvertently before they have solved the puzzle. But it is still encryption, as well as a door can be locked even if the key is in the keyhole. πŸ™‚
      Anyway, I sent you an email describing the methods I used.

Leave a Reply

